Haslingfield Allotment Diary: April 2013

Well it’s been a long time coming but Spring has arrived !

The plots are beginning to dry out and it’s been possible to do some work. Last Saturday I planted two and half rows of main crop potatoes aswell as broad beans and beetroot. I have some ‘second earlies’ to go in today (Juliette).

I have been busy in the greenhouse too, sowing tomatoes, leeks, courgettes, outdoor cucumbers, squashes and pumpkins.

A previous sowing of turnips is just starting to show and the onions sets and garlic I put in in March are now sending up green shoots.

This year is going to be difficult because the ground is still fairly saturated and difficult to work. I am hoping for a dry May so that I can start work on my new plot, which is prone to flooding. I am going to create some raised open beds with deep ditches around the sides to aid drainage. As these dry out I will use them for the pumkins and squashes, which will suck up the moisture in the soil and provide ground cover to restrain the weeds.

About jonathanspain

My blog reflects my interests in local history in South Cambridgeshire, growing your own food, and walking in the district and elsewhere
This entry was posted in Allotments, Allotments / Food Self-sufficiency. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Haslingfield Allotment Diary: April 2013

  1. Cecily ferguson says:

    I love reading your blog about all the plantings you are doing. Your mom used to tell us about your garden. We are having very warm weather in Florida already, but some cool days too. We do not have a garden this year and I do miss it. Usually, by the middle of June our gardens are finished. It starts to get to hot.

    • Hi Cecily

      Great to hear from you. I wrote to Johnnie after the funeral but must have sent to a dormant email? But now I have your’s so we can stay in touch. Sorry to hear you have no garden growing this year. I hope you are both in reasonable health?

Leave a Reply

