Haslingfield Allotment Diary: Feb 2013

Despite the weather and the still very wet conditions I have managed to sow on some previously dug ground, which was prepared in the Autumn.

I have sown two rows of parsnips and a  block of onion sets, as well as three rows of broad beans. So I am feeling quite chuffed! My next task is the get some potatoes ‘chitting’ in the garage.

I have noticed that the rhubarb is making an appearance. Last year I froze some surplus recurrants which I am now using to make jelly, which should last through to the this year’s harvest.

If the weather remains dry I will get back to the digging of new beds on my new plot (see previous blogs). This was put on hold by the flooding of recent months. Given the prone-ness of this new plot to flooding I think it will be one for use in the summer only, when it has drained sufficiently, for squashes and pumpkins and courgettes. I will try to raise the soil by adding more compost and manure and trenching around the sides.

All in all I am ready to get going!

About jonathanspain

My blog reflects my interests in local history in South Cambridgeshire, growing your own food, and walking in the district and elsewhere
This entry was posted in Allotments, Allotments / Food Self-sufficiency, Food Self-sufficiency. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

