Allotment Diary: December 2012

Since my last blog the weather has been very wet and the ground has become waterlogged so work has ground to a halt. This year has been one of the most difficult I have had for vegetable growing.

I have harvested some celeriac and parsnips in recent days and I will be down at the plot at the weekend to dig up some more for the Christmas period.

With hands idle thoughts turn to plans for next year. We need a dry January-February to let the water table go down but even with normal rainfall it looks like a late start next year for spring sowings.

I was intending to finish off the fencing of the new plot I have taken on but with the ground covered in pools of standing water even this contruction work is not possible.

Lets hope I have more to report in January!

About jonathanspain

My blog reflects my interests in local history in South Cambridgeshire, growing your own food, and walking in the district and elsewhere
This entry was posted in Allotments, Allotments / Food Self-sufficiency. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

